Innovation Leadership Recognised in Dublin

Stockholm has the Nobel, Hollywood the Oscars and last night Dublin hosted the first annual European awards for Innovation Leadership. The inaugural Innovation Luminary Awards took place in Trinity College Dublin during the Open Innovation 2.0 Conference. The annual Innovation Luminary awards will rotate amongst the four Dublin region universities.

The Innovation Luminary Academy and Awards have been established by the EU Open Innovation Strategy and Policy Group (OISPG) to celebrate and recognise outstanding innovation role models and through this to inspire the next generation of innovators.

Special Category: Irish Innovation Champion (l-r) Prof. Martin Curley, OISPG Chairman and Intel Vice President; Peter Finnegan, Dublin City Council Assistant City Manager and Director of Economics, International Relations & Research, DCC; Award Recipient Joan Mulvihill, CEO, Irish Internet Association; Miriam O’Callaghan; and Bror Salmelin, European Commission.

The Academy was initiated with the support and sponsorship of Intel Labs Europe, DG Connect, European Commission, and Dublin City; and were established in association with the Innovation Value Institute and the International Society for Professional Innovation Management.

Those receiving the Awards last night became the first members of the Innovation Luminary Academy.

Introducing the awards by recorded video President of the EU Commission Jose Manuel Barroso said “I am very excited to see the quality of the nominees this year and am sure that the Innovation Luminary Awards will fast become a hallmark for celebrating and encouraging innovation achievement”.

OISPG Chairman and Intel Vice President Prof. Martin Curley said “The Irish EU Presidency can leave a legacy of and a trajectory for a new generation of Innovation leadership. These awards and the Academy into which these individuals enter will prove to be part of that legacy and an inspiration for all who are improving an ever changing world by being creative and innovative.”

Lord Mayor of Dublin Naoise Ó Muirí said “In the last few years Dublin’s annual Innovation festival has created a significant awareness and appetite for Innovation in Dublin– thus Dublin was a natural location to host these awards”

Dr Patrick Prendergast, Provost of Trinity College Dublin commented: “We were honoured to host this inaugural Innovation Luminary award ceremony The University is first and foremost about knowledge and is therefore a key player in innovation. Its leading research and high-level graduate employment are a cornerstone of such innovation. It is important to celebrate such innovation achievement, as it sends the right signal to our students and researchers, the innovators of the future.”

Inaugural luminaries included individuals such as Professor Stephen Hawking, Felix Baumgartner, Dr. Alexander Osterwalder and Prof Alex von Gabain and companies such as McLaren Electronic Systems and Rovio.

Also Joan Mulvihill, CEO of the Irish Internet Association was awarded a special local Irish Innovation Champion award for her crusading efforts to stimulate the Irish Internet ecosystem.

The Full List of Inaugural Innovation Luminary awardees is as follows:

Serial Entrepreneurship
Professor Alexander von Gabain (DE)– Chairman, European Institute of Innovation &Technology & Chairman, IntelCell AG

High Performance Innovation
Peter van Manen (UK) – CEO McLaren Formula 1 Electronics

Innovators Courage
Professor Stephen Hawking (UK)

Innovation Courage
Felix Baumgartner (Au)- RedBull Stratos

Business Model Innovation
Alexander Osterwalder (CH)– Inventor of the Business Model Canvas & Best Selling Author

Ami de L’Europe – 21st Century Industrial Innovation
Justin Rattner (USA)– Intel Chief Technology Officer

Creative Innovation
Rovio (FI) Mikael Hed, CEO

Innovation Thought Leadership
Professor Leif Edvinsson (SE) – New Club of Paris, University of Lund.

Special Category: Irish Innovation Champion
Recipient: Joan Mulvihill, Irish Internet Association