Dublin Film Critics’ Circle Awards at DIFF 2024 Announced

The nation’s movie critics have spoken. Members of the Dublin Film Critics’ Circle have, for the 18th year, announced their picks for Best Film, Best Director, Best Irish Film, Best Documentary and Best Performances from the Dublin International Film Festival 2024 programme. The awards were once again supported by Limelight Communications.  Irish filmmakers were present at Light House Cinema in Smithfield, Dublin, to accept their awards, with video messages from international winners also shown at the ceremony.

The Dublin Film Critics’ Circle comprises professional critics working regularly in the Irish capital. The body hands out these annual awards at the Dublin International Film Festival.

This year’s DFCC Award winners at DIFF:

Best Film: Do Not Expect Too Much From the End of the World

Best Director: Victor Erice, Close Your Eyes

Best Screenplay: Johannes Duncker and Ilker Çatak, The Teacher’s Lounge

Best Actress: Eka Chavleishvilli, Blackbird Blackbird Blackberry

Best Actor: (Joint) Ayoub Elaid, Abdelatif El Mansouri, Hounds

Best Debut Feature: Paul B. Preciado, Orlando, My Political Biography

Special Jury Prize: Mascha Halberstad, Oink

Best Editor: Ryûsuke Hamaguchi and Azusa Yamazaki, Evil Does Not Exist

Best Cinematography: Lílis Soares, Mami Wata

Best Score: Ryuichi Sakamoto, Monster

Best Ensemble: Green Border

Best Documentary: Made in England: The Films of Powell and Pressburger

Best Irish Film: That They May Face The Rising Sun

George Byrne Maverick Award: Guy Maddin

Michael Dwyer Discovery Award: (Joint) Pavia Sidhu and Yugam Sood, Dear Jassi